Mindful playing with my Daughters.

Welcome to the March Mindful Mama Carnival: Mindful Mama Challenge

This post was written for inclusion in the Mindful Mama Carnival hosted by Becoming Crunchy and TouchstoneZ. This month our participants have challenges they’ve set for themselves toward becoming more mindful. Please read to the end to find a list of links to the other carnival participants.

***

The challenge is this: Bring myself closer to a more mindful center. Considering this is why I started this particular blog….with the intention for creating a space for me to share what I find…The Mindful Mama Blog Carnival couldn’t have come at a better time. I suppose it’s karma, and I like it!

As a mama to two growing girls, I hope I am doing all the right things; providing them a safe environment,, feeding them healthy foods, allowing their spirits to grow, and curiosity to wander. With all my musings for learning, finding myself, doing this or doing that, what I am figuring out is when it comes down to what my girls really want…it’s not the softball and t-ball games, or the endless play-dates we arrange…it’s not the trips to the library or the beach. Of course those things are great, but what it is, what IT really is…they want TIME with me. And not just watching them, in the same house, under the same roof and space, kind of time. It’s the HANDS ON play. It’s what I call, the Mindful Play, kind of time, that they crave.

It all dawned on me when I broke out all the arts and crafts. It was a Friday and had been a long week, but I promised the girls we would get creative. So I laid everything out. And I have ALOT of everything! Arts and crafts galore cause I love it! So, there it all is laid out and I show them the basics: washing brushes inbetween colors, using different strokes, blending, etc. Then I got the brilliant idea that while they start that, I could get a load of laundry in so I wouldn’t have to worry about it over the weekend, and maybe clean the bathroom too, especially since the girls are occupied. I could get alot of “stuff” done. Well, I kept getting interrupted by the girls asking me questions. By the fourth question I realized…..Ahhh Haaaa. Rani…..stop. Sit down and play….they care about what they are doing, but they want to do what they are doing, WITH me. It’s like it all came to a head and I realized I must be present for them. So I did. I sat down and laughed, played and created with them. It was so simple yet so hard to realize. I was too busy trying to get things done, when what I needed to do was to just do the things that meant the most right in that moment. And that moment now becomes a precious memory that we will never forget! That is my deal behind mindful playing!!!!

There are many ways to by mindful, and one wouldn’t thing the concept of play would need any help. And really it doesn’t. We just need to listen to our kids and by thankful that they want to spend time with us and how precious that really is.

Mindful Mama Carnival

***

Mindful Mama Carnival -- Becoming Crunchy and TouchstoneZ Visit The Mindful Mama Homepage to find out how you can participate in the next Mindful Mama Carnival!

On Carnival day, please follow along on Twitter using the handy #MindMaCar hashtag. You can also subscribe to the Mindful Mama Twitter List and Mindful Mama Participant Feed.
Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

21 Comments

    1. thanks Kelly and Dave! I must keep reminding myself of this everyday. And thanks for you compliment…they are adorable, but also very sassy and independent…yes…that is a good thing…but can be very trying at times! 🙂

  1. Your post rings so true for me. Although my little one is only 3, the ONLY thing she wants in life is to BE with me. This can be in play, in helping me with household chores, cooking, etc… Bottom line – she craves connection through the simplest actions. Yet the simple hold so much meaning. When we play together, when I am FULLY engaged in her play, I can see her whole world just light up.

    Great post! Thank you for sharing!

  2. I think you’ve nailed the essence of mindfulness with this post. I love this, “We just need to listen to our kids and by thankful that they want to spend time with us and how precious that really is.” This mindfulness challenge is another way to actively practice this principle and create lasting memories.

    Thank you for participating in the Mindful Mama Carnival.

    1. Thanks Zoie! I’ve been having a wonderful time hopping to everyone’s blog and gaining new perspectives!! I am loving this! Still have quite a few more to go….will be a great start to my spring break!

  3. I feel like I have lived exactly what you describe here. Actually probably lots of times. It’s sometimes so hard not to take that opportunity to get a bit more work done while my daughter is engaged with something… But there have to be times to be with her in those places.
    And you’re so right that it is our loss as well when we don’t stop and join them.

  4. Such a beautiful post Rani!! I am sometimes in such a rush to get the mundane stuff done, I forget to enjoy time with the girls. when I realize that, we sit on the carpet and pull out ALL of their toys and just play. And laugh. And giggle. And make up pretend stories. Simple pleasures of life!

I welcome your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.